Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Closing night honors Wolfenden, Crissman, Sniper Hall

10/28/2010 8:09 PM -
Harrington Raceway’s 64th season came to a close Thursday night as a variety of season-ending honors were awarded.
 For the first time since 2006, Harrington had a leading driver not named Tony Morgan as Ross Wolfenden (233 wins) took the 2010 title, with a comfortable lead over Morgan (185), while Jim Morand and Victor Kirby finished tied for third. It was the first ever driving title for Wolfenden, whose been second on several occasions. Wolfenden has won more than 4,600 races in his career and won five on closing night, including the last race on the program, fittingly with a horse trained by Harrington’s leading trainer, Tim Crissman.
 Crissman earned his second straight training title at Harrington, finishing the meet with 72 wins. Brothers Wayne (56) and Les Givens (46) rounded out the top three. It was Crissman’s second straight title at Delaware’s half-mile racetrack.
 Foulk Stables and Lauren Allen’s Sniper Hall was honored as the horse of the meet by the Delaware Valley Chapter of the United States Harness Writers’ Association. The 7-year-old Blissfull Hall ridgling won $88,000 in 17 starts at Harrington in 2010, including 7 wins. He is trained by co-owner Allen.
 Racing on the Delaware circuit shifts 20 miles north to Dover Downs, who will open its 2010-2011 meet Sunday October 31 with a 5:30 p.m. post time.